BEER REVIEWS

Here’s a list of the last 50 beers that I’ve tried from my Untappd feed using RETAPPD plugin.

Bitburger Premium Pils / Premium Beer - Pilsner - German - Bitburger Braugruppe -   Germany
Bitburger Premium Pils / Premium Beer at Prost! Portland
Brewery: Bitburger Braugruppe, Germany
Style: Pilsner - German
ABV: 4.8
First Had: November 21, 2017
My Rating: 4.25
My Comment: Dry hop and grains. Mild lemon and grassy herbal notes.

Köstritzer Schwarzbier - Schwarzbier - Köstritzer Schwarzbierbrauerei -   Germany
Köstritzer Schwarzbier at Prost! Portland
Brewery: Köstritzer Schwarzbierbrauerei, Germany
Style: Schwarzbier
ABV: 4.8
First Had: November 21, 2017
My Rating: 3.5
My Comment: Super strong but thin bodied, burned coffee and dark roasted cereal. Dry backed.

Weltenburger Kloster Barock Dunkel - Lager - Dunkel Munich - Klosterbrauerei Weltenburg -   Germany
Weltenburger Kloster Barock Dunkel at Prost! Portland
Brewery: Klosterbrauerei Weltenburg, Germany
Style: Lager - Dunkel Munich
ABV: 4.7
First Had: November 21, 2017
My Rating: 4.25
My Comment: Smooth and sweet, roasted and slight burned sugars notes. Low hop profile and lingering caramel notes.

Frankenheim Alt - Altbier - Frankenheim Brauerei -   Germany
Frankenheim Alt at Prost! Portland
Brewery: Frankenheim Brauerei, Germany
Style: Altbier
ABV: 4.8
First Had: November 21, 2017
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Bready chew, crusty and dry grains. Dry and mild earthy hop notes.

IPX Wakatu: Single Hop Ale - IPA - American - Hopworks Urban Brewery -   United States
IPX Wakatu: Single Hop Ale at Hopworks BikeBar
Brewery: Hopworks Urban Brewery, United States
Style: IPA - American
ABV: 6
First Had: November 21, 2017
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Dry and really hop forward with citrus and grapefruit pith, bitters are tart.

Super Chill - IPA - New England - Hopworks Urban Brewery -   United States
Super Chill at Hopworks Urban Brewery
Brewery: Hopworks Urban Brewery, United States
Style: IPA - New England
ABV: 6.4
First Had: November 18, 2017
My Rating: 3.75
My Comment: Super grapefruit and cloudy, dry all over, sweet orange and citra pithy back.

Velvet ESB - Extra Special / Strong Bitter - Hopworks Urban Brewery -   United States
Velvet ESB at Hopworks Urban Brewery
Brewery: Hopworks Urban Brewery, United States
Style: Extra Special / Strong Bitter
ABV: 5.2
First Had: November 18, 2017
My Rating: 4.75
My Comment: Always a smooth caramel bomb of goodness.

Uptown Brown - Brown Ale - American - Trap Door Brewing -   United States
Uptown Brown at Trap Door Brewing
Brewery: Trap Door Brewing, United States
Style: Brown Ale - American
ABV: 5.8
First Had: November 18, 2017
My Rating: 4.25
My Comment: Slight dry and thin but dark roasted flavors. Mild hop, solid burned sugars and coffee vibe.

Dry Hop Pilsner - Pilsner - German - Trap Door Brewing -   United States
Dry Hop Pilsner at Trap Door Brewing
Brewery: Trap Door Brewing, United States
Style: Pilsner - German
ABV: 5.1
First Had: November 18, 2017
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Dry and slight citrus to herbal hop profile. Thin malt bill, great finish.

Nitro Oatmeal Stout - Stout - Oatmeal - Founders Brewing Co. -   United States
Nitro Oatmeal Stout at The Thirsty Sasquatch
Brewery: Founders Brewing Co, United States
Style: Stout - Oatmeal
ABV: 4.5
First Had: November 18, 2017
My Rating: 3.5
My Comment: Thin, smooth front to back, solid roast of coffee and dark grains.

A Zone - IPA - American - Double Mountain Brewery & Taproom -   United States
A Zone at The Thirsty Sasquatch
Brewery: Double Mountain Brewery & Taproom, United States
Style: IPA - American
ABV: 0
First Had: November 18, 2017
My Rating: 3.25
My Comment: Dry, bright hop forward, super grassy and dank all over.

Hell - Lager - Helles - Mahr's Bräu -   Germany
Hell at Up North Surf Club & Beer
Brewery: Mahr's Bräu, Germany
Style: Lager - Helles
ABV: 4.9
First Had: November 16, 2017
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Amazing yeast character with a full body rounded smooth approach. More sweet than not.

The Pig IPA - IPA - American - Royale Brewing Company -   United States
The Pig IPA at Up North Surf Club & Beer
Brewery: Royale Brewing Company, United States
Style: IPA - American
ABV: 6.5
First Had: November 16, 2017
My Rating: 4
My Comment: A bit earthy and dirty/floral but in a good way, classic bitter hop resins, dried leafs, caramel chewy malt leaves a sweet lingering back.

Secret Single Hop Pale - Pale Ale - American - pFriem Family Brewers -   United States
Secret Single Hop Pale at Up North Surf Club & Beer
Brewery: pFriem Family Brewers, United States
Style: Pale Ale - American
ABV: 6.3
First Had: November 16, 2017
My Rating: 4.25
My Comment: Fresh hop cone resins and fruity nose, sharp grassy hop profile and sweet thin cracker malt back. Mild sweetness lingers.

Winter Ale (2017) - Winter Ale - pFriem Family Brewers -   United States
Winter Ale (2017) at Up North Surf Club & Beer
Brewery: pFriem Family Brewers, United States
Style: Winter Ale
ABV: 7.5
First Had: November 16, 2017
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Gentile yeast and classic Belgian esters, solid body and sweet malt backing.

Nao's Black Lager - Schwarzbier - Breakside Brewery -   United States
Nao's Black Lager at Breakside Brewery
Brewery: Breakside Brewery, United States
Style: Schwarzbier
ABV: 5.2
First Had: November 16, 2017
My Rating: 4.5
My Comment: An amazing Schwartzbier with clean flavors and mild hop presence. Dry back. Bitters expressed are from the roasted malts.

Hoppy Pils - Pilsner - Other - pFriem Family Brewers -   United States
Hoppy Pils at Up North Surf Club & Beer
Brewery: pFriem Family Brewers, United States
Style: Pilsner - Other
ABV: 5.2
First Had: November 13, 2017
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Lots of grassy and hop cone resins. Dry cracker malts, sweet notes way on the back.

Suicide Squeeze IPA - IPA - Session / India Session Ale - Fort George Brewery -   United States
Suicide Squeeze IPA at Pizza Fino
Brewery: Fort George Brewery, United States
Style: IPA - Session / India Session Ale
ABV: 4.5
First Had: November 13, 2017
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Classic hop cone resins, tropical and citrus notes. Clean yeast flavors and thin chewy bread malt body.

Summer Pale Ale - Pale Ale - American - pFriem Family Brewers -   United States
Summer Pale Ale at Pizza Fino
Brewery: pFriem Family Brewers, United States
Style: Pale Ale - American
ABV: 5
First Had: November 13, 2017
My Rating: 3.25
My Comment: A little thin, but refreshing with a mild grassy and herbal note. Sweet crackery malt.

Irish Red - Red Ale - Irish - Ancestry Brewing Company -   United States
Irish Red at The Rambler
Brewery: Ancestry Brewing Company, United States
Style: Red Ale - Irish
ABV: 5.4
First Had: November 11, 2017
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Creamy and smooth bodied Amber with a mild Earthy hop note, lusciousness and burned sugars.

Off Leash - IPA - Session / India Session Ale - Crux Fermentation Project -   United States
Off Leash at The Rambler
Brewery: Crux Fermentation Project, United States
Style: IPA - Session / India Session Ale
ABV: 4.5
First Had: November 11, 2017
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Clean, slight floral and dried grassy vibe. Medium bodied with good carbonation.

Galaxy American Wheat - Pale Wheat Ale - American - Fat Head's Brewery -   United States
Galaxy American Wheat at Fat Head's Brewery
Brewery: Fat Head's Brewery, United States
Style: Pale Wheat Ale - American
ABV: 4.7
First Had: November 05, 2017
My Rating: 3.25
My Comment: Amazing amount of pine and citrus bitter hops all over. Light wheat body, mild sweet sugars, soft yeast.

Pilsner - Pilsner - German - Breakside Brewery -   United States
Pilsner at Radio Room
Brewery: Breakside Brewery, United States
Style: Pilsner - German
ABV: 5.2
First Had: November 04, 2017
My Rating: 4.75
My Comment: Super dry and light grassy and lemon zest back. Traditional.

Pilsner - Pilsner - Other - pFriem Family Brewers -   United States
Pilsner at Mac Wine Cellars
Brewery: pFriem Family Brewers, United States
Style: Pilsner - Other
ABV: 4.9
First Had: November 04, 2017
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Touch of dry floral and grassy hops, soft yeast notes, slight dry cereal malts.

Cavalier - Cream Ale - Baerlic Brewing Company -   United States
Cavalier at Mac Wine Cellars
Brewery: Baerlic Brewing Company, United States
Style: Cream Ale
ABV: 4.9
First Had: November 04, 2017
My Rating: 3
My Comment: Dry front, mild powdery and sweet corn like smoothie vibe. Gentile Earthy hop profile.

Common Sense - California Common - Lager - Amber - Sedition Brewing Co -   United States
Common Sense - California Common at Backyard Social
Brewery: Sedition Brewing Co, United States
Style: Lager - Amber
ABV: 5.2
First Had: November 01, 2017
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Smooth is the first name, biscuity-caramel is the second.

Black Flag - IPA - Black / Cascadian Dark Ale - Oproer -   Netherlands
Black Flag at Backyard Social
Brewery: Oproer, Netherlands
Style: IPA - Black / Cascadian Dark Ale
ABV: 6.5
First Had: November 01, 2017
My Rating: 3.5
My Comment: Strong coffee adjacent bitterness, roasted and burned grains, mild yeast, sweet back.

Common Sense - California Common - Lager - Amber - Sedition Brewing Co -   United States
Common Sense - California Common at Backyard Social
Brewery: Sedition Brewing Co, United States
Style: Lager - Amber
ABV: 5.2
First Had: November 01, 2017
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Sweet and dark caramel malt body, gentile yeast and hop resins, medium carbonation.

Cerberus - Lager - Helles - Pono Brewing Company -   United States
Cerberus at Backyard Social
Brewery: Pono Brewing Company, United States
Style: Lager - Helles
ABV: 5.7
First Had: November 01, 2017
My Rating: 3.5
My Comment: Bright and full carbonation, cracker thin malt. Mild yeast and generous hop cone hits.

10 Pound Fist Fresh Hop Festbier - Festbier - Sedition Brewing Co -   United States
10 Pound Fist Fresh Hop Festbier at Backyard Social
Brewery: Sedition Brewing Co, United States
Style: Festbier
ABV: 6.5
First Had: October 31, 2017
My Rating: 3.5
My Comment: Grassy and herbal forward, strong flavor profile and sweet white bread malt chew back.

Warsteiner Premium Dunkel - Lager - Dunkel Munich - Warsteiner -   Germany
Warsteiner Premium Dunkel at Prost! Portland
Brewery: Warsteiner, Germany
Style: Lager - Dunkel Munich
ABV: 4.8
First Had: October 29, 2017
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Coffee hints, solid bodied, super roasted malts. Watery finish and quick drop off of flavors.

Maisel's Weisse Dunkel - Dunkelweizen - Brauerei Gebr. Maisel -   Germany
Maisel's Weisse Dunkel at Prost! Portland
Brewery: Brauerei Gebr Maisel, Germany
Style: Dunkelweizen
ABV: 5
First Had: October 29, 2017
My Rating: 3.75
My Comment: Rich, classic approach, creamy, lusciousness front to back.

Winter Kingdom - Winter Warmer - Hopworks Urban Brewery -   United States
Winter Kingdom at Hopworks BikeBar
Brewery: Hopworks Urban Brewery, United States
Style: Winter Warmer
ABV: 5.7
First Had: October 29, 2017
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Nice winter ale, spicy front with a dry mid. Generous caramel malt and sweet back end.

Legacy Kolsch - Kölsch - Hopworks Urban Brewery -   United States
Legacy Kolsch at Hopworks BikeBar
Brewery: Hopworks Urban Brewery, United States
Style: Kölsch
ABV: 6.3
First Had: October 29, 2017
My Rating: 3.5
My Comment: A bit watered down on the mouth, mild grassy hops, slight herbal bite on the back. Soft.

Velvet ESB - Extra Special / Strong Bitter - Hopworks Urban Brewery -   United States
Velvet ESB at Hopworks BikeBar
Brewery: Hopworks Urban Brewery, United States
Style: Extra Special / Strong Bitter
ABV: 5.2
First Had: October 29, 2017
My Rating: 4.75
My Comment: It looks as good as it tastes. Silky smooth and rich chewy back. Gentile hop resins lean towards herbal and Earthy.

Festbier (2017) - Märzen - Occidental Brewing Co. -   United States
Festbier (2017) at Grapes ‘n Growlers
Brewery: Occidental Brewing Co, United States
Style: Märzen
ABV: 6.3
First Had: October 28, 2017
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Robust and rich caramel malts, slight bight from the hop resins, clean finish.

Pallet Jack IPA™ - IPA - American - Barley Brown's Beer -   United States
Pallet Jack IPA™ at Grapes ‘n Growlers
Brewery: Barley Brown's Beer, United States
Style: IPA - American
ABV: 7.2
First Had: October 28, 2017
My Rating: 5
My Comment: Ok, one of the most classic IPAs you can find. Classic hops, gentile yeast and malts.

Radiator - Doppelbock  - Brothers Cascadia Brewing -   United States
Radiator at Brothers Cascadia Brewing
Brewery: Brothers Cascadia Brewing, United States
Style: Doppelbock
ABV: 7
First Had: October 28, 2017
My Rating: 4.25
My Comment: Slight sweet caramel malts, classic German hop profile with Earthy to dry leafy hop. Really smooth and full bodied.

Orange Whip - IPA - New England - Fortside Brewing Company -   United States
Orange Whip at beerded brothers brewing
Brewery: Fortside Brewing Company, United States
Style: IPA - New England
ABV: 5.9
First Had: October 27, 2017
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Nice subtle juicy hops, clean citrus zest, some mild yeasty hits. Malts are secondary and dry.

Fat Woody Oak Aged Limited Edition Scotch Ale - Scotch Ale / Wee Heavy - Silver City Brewery -   United States
Fat Woody Oak Aged Limited Edition Scotch Ale at Ben's Bottle Shop
Brewery: Silver City Brewery, United States
Style: Scotch Ale / Wee Heavy
ABV: 9.2
First Had: October 26, 2017
My Rating: 3.5
My Comment: Sweet and smooth, robust mouthfeel and solid chew. Lingers molasses and dried plums.

Dark Knife Pumpkin Schwarzbier - Schwarzbier - Elysian Brewing Company -   United States
Dark Knife Pumpkin Schwarzbier at Ben's Bottle Shop
Brewery: Elysian Brewing Company, United States
Style: Schwarzbier
ABV: 4.2
First Had: October 26, 2017
My Rating: 3.5
My Comment: A bit more spicy than I'd like, great roasted coffee and dry cocoa nib profile. Drops quickly to a dry finish.

Boxcar Rapids - Red Ale - American Amber / Red - Riverbend Brewing Company -   United States
Boxcar Rapids at Ben's Bottle Shop
Brewery: Riverbend Brewing Company, United States
Style: Red Ale - American Amber / Red
ABV: 5
First Had: October 26, 2017
My Rating: 0
My Comment: A little thin on the front, plenty of juicy hop to balance against the sweet mild caramel malts.

Mississippi Red - Red Ale - American Amber / Red - StormBreaker Brewing -   United States
Mississippi Red at Smokehouse Provisions
Brewery: StormBreaker Brewing, United States
Style: Red Ale - American Amber / Red
ABV: 5.8
First Had: October 26, 2017
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Classic approach to this red, solid bodied, but not too sweet or hoppy.

3 Sisters American Red Ale - Red Ale - American Amber / Red - Wild Ride Brewing -   United States
3 Sisters American Red Ale at Loyal Legion
Brewery: Wild Ride Brewing, United States
Style: Red Ale - American Amber / Red
ABV: 6
First Had: October 25, 2017
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Fresh hop version. Strong wet cardboard and mild hop resins (Earthy) notes. Soft mid and back chew.

Fresh Hop Cascade Redhead - Red Ale - American Amber / Red - Vanguard Brewing -   United States
Fresh Hop Cascade Redhead at Loyal Legion
Brewery: Vanguard Brewing, United States
Style: Red Ale - American Amber / Red
ABV: 5.9
First Had: October 25, 2017
My Rating: 2.25
My Comment: Buttery off flavors along side the strong sweet malty body. Minor herbal and Earthy hops.

Alpha - IPA - American - Block 15 Brewing Company -   United States
Alpha at Loyal Legion
Brewery: Block 15 Brewing Company, United States
Style: IPA - American
ABV: 6.5
First Had: October 25, 2017
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Super pine, dank, and floral hop cone resins. Not a starter beer.

Rambler Lager - Lager - North American Adjunct - Awesome Ales -   United States
Rambler Lager at The Rambler
Brewery: Awesome Ales, United States
Style: Lager - North American Adjunct
ABV: 4.6
First Had: October 25, 2017
My Rating: 3.75
My Comment: Clean and mild bitterness from the fresh herbal and grassy hop profile. Secondary cracker thin malts.

Irish Red - Red Ale - Irish - Ancestry Brewing Company -   United States
Irish Red at The Rambler
Brewery: Ancestry Brewing Company, United States
Style: Red Ale - Irish
ABV: 5.4
First Had: October 24, 2017
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Awesome red, classic with mellow hop and yeast, strong caramel and sweet chewy bread crust malts.

Oktoberfest Märzen / Original Münchner Märzen - Märzen - Paulaner Brauerei -   Germany
Oktoberfest Märzen / Original Münchner Märzen at Prost! Portland
Brewery: Paulaner Brauerei, Germany
Style: Märzen
ABV: 5.8
First Had: October 24, 2017
My Rating: 3.5
My Comment: More clean than not, sweet dry cereal grains, gentile yeast and hops.

Spaten Optimator - Doppelbock  - Spaten-Franziskaner-Löwenbräu-Gruppe -   Germany
Spaten Optimator at Prost! Portland
Brewery: Spaten-Franziskaner-Löwenbräu-Gruppe, Germany
Style: Doppelbock
ABV: 7.6
First Had: October 24, 2017
My Rating: 4.5
My Comment: Amazing rich and creamy front, sweet all the way to the back. Lusciousness in a glass. Caramels and Uber low bitteness are all you get.

Powered by Untappd | Brought to you by Retappd for WordPress

Leave a Reply